Two sisters just blogging about their passion: halal food!

Of Mice and Men – The Cheese Factor

Leave a comment

cheese-shirt

Time and again we frequently hear conversations about certain cheese and cheese related products being impermissible due to the source of rennet. In fact, quite often we hear people labelling products as impermissible to consume because they see rennet on the list of ingredients.

In our humble opinion, prior to labelling a product impermissible (haram), it’s best to at least call or write to the company to find out the source of rennet. Whenever there’s a difference of opinion, we personally prefer to use the term ‘questionable’ or ‘doubtful’ than outrightly labelling it impermissible (haram).

Anyway, we came across a great article by Sheikh Yasir Qadhi and thought we should share it. It talks about what rennet is and different opinions that different schools of thought hold. We understand it’s a lengthy article, but we highly recommend that you read it in it’s entirety.

Of Mice and Men – The Cheese Factor

Advertisements

Author: HFE

The experiences and adventures of two sisters who happen to be 'halal food enthusiasts'.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s