We are halal food enthusiasts and we like enjoying food that is halal. Albeit we usually dine at restaurants serving complete halal menu, we do eat at other establishments where certain food items are halal. Of course caution always needs to be taken and when in doubt avoid it or ask for details.
Recently we contacted a couple of New York Fries locations in GTA and learned that the gravy in poutine is vegetable based. We even had a couple of vegan and vegetarian friends confirm it. So we tried it and enjoyed it. In addition to having a yummy New York Fries, having a decent poutine coupled with mozzarella cheese curds made the experience worthwhile for us.
The information regarding vegetable based gravy in poutine is accurate around the time we blogged about it. Also, it is only their regular poutine that is okay (and not Pulled Pork Poutine, Braised Beef Poutine or Butter Chicken Poutine). Please check and confirm prior to consuming poutine at New York Fries.
Addendum: We confirmed with New York Fries that the rennet in the cheese curds is vegetable based.