Someone was concerned about the halal-ness of McD’s fries in Canada. Called and clarified over the phone, plus found the following on their website, which I thought I should share:
“We do not use beef tallow in our fries. Our fries do not have any meat additives and do not come into contact with any meat or meat-containing components during their preparation. They are cooked in 100% vegetable oil with vegetable-based natural flavour (we phased animal fats out of our fry oil in 2007). Our restaurants also use dedicated fryers for cooking our potato products, which are separate from fryers used to cook fish or chicken products. Long story short: our french fries are suitable for vegetarian diets.”
This is from McDonald’s Canada website.
Addendum (January 31, 2015):
At Canadian McDonalds, the fries have a seasoning that is from a vegetable source. The ingredients for the ones sold in the United States may be different. This is the list of ingredients for the fries as of January 2015 from the McDonalds website:
French Fries: Potatoes, canola oil, hydrogenated soybean oil, safflower oil, natural flavour (vegetable source), dextrose, sodium acid pyrophosphate (maintain colour), citric acid (preservative), dimethylpolysiloxane (anti- foaming agent), cooked in vegetable oil (canola oil, corn oil, soybean oil, hydrogenated soybean oil (TBHQ), citric acid, dimethylpolysiloxane).